Meet Lynn Crandall…

Posted on

MEET LYNN CRANDALL, A NEW CRIMSONISTA …

I’m thrilled to be chatting today with Lynn Crandall, a new Crimsonista, whose book, “Dancing with Detective Danger,” will be released Jan. 21 and is available for pre-order now.

Thank you, Lynn, for agreeing to be a guest on my blog today.

Thanks, Rena. I’m happy to be here!

►Please tell me a little about your book.

“Dancing with Detective Danger,” a contemporary romance, is my second romance novel but my first with Crimson Romance.

Uncovering secrets and exposing truth are all in a day’s work for private investigator Sterling Aegar. But when her latest case threatens to reveal her own buried feelings for an old love, Sterling runs for cover.

A body in the bathtub and pleas from a jilted wife to find her wayward husband mean a welcome break from the usual humdrum cases Sterling and her sister, Lacey, are called to investigate. But when Sterling’s old flame, Detective Ben Kirby, walks into the murder scene, she feels her world spin out of control. Danger from thugs and murderers poses no greater threat than the peril she’d suffer if she lets daredevil Ben get too close.

Seeing Sterling for the first time in two years is for Ben like drinking in a healing tonic. He could never forget the way it felt to run his hands over her delicious curves or the way she touched his soul. She remains the one person who can make the emptiness in his gut go away. Finding the murderer is his job, but protecting Sterling from seriously dangerous people is his mission.

As the case unfolds, Sterling and Ben not only solve the murder and locate the missing husband, they confront secrets that set them each free from a painful past.

► Although this is your debut novel as a Crimson author, you are published already and a PAN member. Can you discuss the difference between the traditional path of your first book and your e-pub experience thus far?

Much has changed in the publishing world since my first book was published. For that book, the editor FedExed the hard-copy galley to me to mark up with an actual pen and FedEx back. My cover came the same way. Things such as acceptance, contract, and publication date moved pretty quickly for that print book, but it has moved faster with this second book, at the speed of the Internet, so to speak.

Qualifying for PAN felt wonderful, and I’ve appreciated the information I’ve had access to as a PAN member of RWA. I highly recommend it! I have to say, though, that the support and camaraderie of Crimson Romance authors has been like walking into a room where everyone turns to say hi. It’s been inspiring and helpful and has given my writing goals a boost.

►Who is your book dedicated to, and why?

Wow, what an interesting question to ask! I dedicated “Dancing with Detective Danger” to my husband. He’s been a major support for all my writing efforts from the very beginning. Since I freelance as my “day job,” he also has been someone I rely on to read my articles, and he always offers helpful input.

►What are the names of your key characters and how did you choose those names?

The female protagonist is Sterling and the male protagonist is Ben. But Sterling’s sister, Lacey, is a minor character who has an important role in the book and will be seen again in her own storyline.

I love names. If I had pets for every name that rolls through my thoughts and makes me say, Hmmm…I would have tons of pets. So when I begin thinking about a story and who the characters are going to be, the name is a first step. I brainstorm that, too. With my first book, the editor asked me to change the names of the main characters. That was hard because I loved those names but she said they were popular in books at the time. But I got a chance to find other names I liked.

►What was the inspiration for your most recent work?

In a sense, family and the impact of emotional baggage was the inspiration for this book. For “Dancing with Detective Danger” I wanted to feature a loving, supportive but healthy relationship between sisters. But the relationship between Ben and Sterling is meant to highlight how emotional issues of the past get triggered in the present and need to be dealt with in order for individuals to be able to have the happily-ever-after of a lifetime.

►What is your favorite line from this book?

I have a lot of favorite lines. LOL! I like this one: “We never settled anything. You may have, I don’t know, but we never settled anything.”

► What is your favorite smell.

You’re making me chuckle! Though food was the first thought in my brain, honestly I love the scent of rain. Love it!

►Name some of your favorite authors.

All the Crimson Romance authors. J And…Kelley Armstrong and Kat Richardson. I just recently reread “Jane Eyre” by Charlotte Bronte and fell in love again. Of course there’s also Jane Austin.

►Do you have a “go to” book when everything around you is crashing down?

That would be “Bitten,” by Kelley Armstrong.

►What advice would you offer aspiring authors?

Write. That sounds clichéd, but it’s true. It’s so challenging to find the time in a typical life to focus on writing but it has to be done or time goes by. It’s also so important to believe in yourself. I think a lot of writers do, but there are some of us who struggle with self-doubt, which will put what you love on the back burner.

►Describe your writing process.

As with all writers, I have ideas floating around all the time and sometimes one feels right—another cliché. A character constellation starts to cluster, eliciting more character constellations. I brainstorm, then research until I feel “full.” Then write. I’m a pantser, so there is an outline but it’s very sketchy.

►Please add anything else you would like to include.

I am in love with my characters. I hope readers will find Sterling and Ben have depth and are relatable to in the emotional ride they travel trying to live their lives and find peace and love. My tag line is, “Ordinary characters…extraordinary romance.” That’s because my work as a reporter and a writer has proven that average, ordinary people are fascinating and relationships are complex but offer much.

►Where can we find your book?

http://www.crimsonromance.com/, www.lynn-crandall.com andhttp://thewritewaycafe.blogspot.com/ .

Thank you for visiting with me today.

One response »

  1. Just wanted to let you know I have set up a luncheon with me, Jeffrey ,Eddie, and Andy on 4/22/14. I will let you know how it turns out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

