GUEST INTERVIEW – GALEN ROSE …

I’m sharing my space today with my Crimson Romance sister Galen Rose, visiting us from the West Coast. Like me, Galen broke into the publishing world earlier this year with her debut novel, “A Place to Rest My Heart.”

Thanks, Galen, for being my guest today.

Thank  you very much for interviewing me!

►Please introduce yourself and tell me a little about your book.

Aloha, my pen name is Galen Rose. My book, “A Place to Rest My Heart,” takes place in San Francisco, current day. You’ll meet Laney, a down on her luck, but tough as nails (at least on the outside) young woman, who finds out that family doesn’t always have to be blood related.

►Is this your first novel or do you have other books published and, if so, what are their titles?

This is my first novel, so far. I am diligently working on the second, third, etc…

It’s pretty exciting, isn’t it?

► Who is your book dedicated to, and why?

My family and friends; if it had not been for their encouragement and patience, I never would have finished.

►What are the names of your key characters and how did you choose those names?

Laney Murphy and Sean Muldoon.  Laney is short for Helena, a name that would have been for a daughter had I had one and I have always liked the name Sean. Plus there is quite a large Irish family in this book.

►What was the inspiration for your most recent work?

I am not sure what really inspired “A Place to Rest My Heart.” One day I was driving along and out of the blue, the opening lines popped into my head and would not go away. I sat down to write and the story kept pouring out of me for three months.

►What is your favorite line from this book?

‘I had no idea then, that Fate drove a yellow cab.’

►Name some of your favorite authors.

Nora Roberts, Jennifer Crusie, Suzanne Brockmann, Carla Neggers

Oh, those are some good picks!

►Do you have a “go to” book when everything around you is crashing down?

“Agnes and The Hitman,” by Jennifer Crusie & Bob Mayer, it is hilarious!

►Describe your writing process.

I am a pantzer. I just sit down and let my imagination go forth and develop the story as I go. I’ll take notes at times to keep names and some details straight but I don’t really outline anything.

Ah, that’s how I work too!

►What advice would you offer aspiring authors?

Read your genre, don’t give up, and take writing classes.

Good advice, especially don’t give up!

►Where can we find your book or learn more about you?

http://www.galenrose.com

https://www.facebook.com/GalenRose

http://pinterest.com/galnrose/

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/15705818-a-place-to-rest-my-heart

Thank you for visiting with me today, Galen. It’s been fun!

Leave a Reply

